Aside

Triple Berry Batter Cobbler

A warm and gooey cobbler cooked in a cast iron skillet, it can be made with whatever fruits you like, but I am partial to berries. I have an old scrawled note card with a traditional milk, dairy, wheat recipe for a blackberry batter cobbler that I used to veganize regularly, but I hadn’t tried it again since going gluten-free after the birth of my son almost 2 years ago. Well luckily I decided to concoct my own gluten free version and give it a whirl, because it not only tastes the same as the original, but the cake batter cooks up to moist yet flaky perfection.

Ingredients

1/2 cup palm shortening (Spectrum vegetable shortening)

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 tbsp. arrowroot flour

6 tbsp. coconut flour

1/2 cup sorghum flour

1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

2 tsp. baking powder (aluminum free)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

a pinch of sea salt

1 cup almond milk (I used Silk Vanilla Almond – which I accidentally purchased instead of original flavor and   incidentally discovered it tastes like melted ice cream – happy accident 🙂

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. orange zest

1 tsp. cinnamon

1.5 – 2 cups fresh or frozen berries depending on your desired level of fruit – I used 2 cups frozen mixed blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries.

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Place shortening in 10 inch cast iron skillet and set in warming oven
  • Mix all dry ingredients while oven/shortening  is warming
  • Add wet ingredients and melted shortening to flour mixture- stir to combine
  • Pour batter back into warmed skillet
  • Smush into place with back side of a spoon
  • Sprinkle berries over batter and press down gently
  • Bake for 45-55 minutes, or until cake is golden(and a toothpick emerges clean) and berries are set and not syrupy
  • Eat it while it’s hot, Eat it with ice cream, Misbehave and eat it for breakfast with your coffee – go for it.

Leave a comment